Bellybuttonboutique's Blog

goings on in the world of pregnancy and the time thereafter

Maternal Fitness & Diastasis

Truth be told, vanity aside, women want their stomachs back.  They hitting the gyms, buying DVDs and ab machines in hopes of flattening out their postpartum mid-sections.  The problem is is that millions of women have a diastasis and are going undiagnosed.  I know this problem intimately and well.

What is diastasis?  It is a separation in your abdominal wall.  You can find out if you have it by laying on your back with your feet flat on the floor.  Take 3 fingers (fore, middle and ring) and place them 3 inches above your belly button,  pointing your fingers downwards, towards your legs.  Relax.  Press your fingers about an inch into your belly, then slowly lift your head.  You will feel the sides of your abdominals close in around your fingers.  If you can feel this, you have a diastasis.

I just got back from a Diastasis training course in NYC taught by Julie Tupler, RN.  She is the Mummy Tummy guru and a vendor of my online store http://www.bellybuttonboutique.com.  I sell her Diastasis Rehab products on my website and they continue to be best sellers.  When I met Julie last year I had given up on my body and just decided that I was going to have a tummy tuck or abdominalplasty.  She explained to me what diastasis was and talked about her program.  That night I researched Julie and her products.  I found that Julie was Elle MacPherson’s prenatal fitness trainer and figured, if her guidance is good enough for a supermodel that I surely could trust her with my body.  But like most things that involve discipline and exercise, I didn’t do anything with the information.  I sit on it for almost a year before I decided to give it a try…all I can say is that it works.  I am in the midst of repairing my diastasis, but I can tell you that it is really working.

I hope to post before and after pictures and measurements as I go through this program on my site.  I want to stop looking 3 months pregnant…especially since I gave birth 18 months ago.

October 5, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

